. . . And we have air again!!!

Well, its been a week here in our household!!! Of course, it would be 90 degrees out each day and our HVAC would D.I.E. Could it be worse?? Of course! But when your house is 89 degrees it makes you very cranky! I am so thankful for one of my patients, who barely knows us, let us borrow a portable AC unit to help us get at least some sleep. And then the weekend we spent at my brother in law and sister in laws house. . . AMAZING! We really do not know how good we have it. Yes, there is a lot of chaos going on all around us right now in America but just STOP for a minute. Look around and thank God for all he has given you! I could go on and on and on!!!!

Well, I did not get my usual grocery shopping and meal prep done this weekend but I did great last week and when our air went out I was prepared! I had done a few meals in the crock pot and we were able to just heat the food up and eat! Again, another reason why I LOVE the crock pot. When its too hot to turn the oven on just turn that crock pot on! I bought this whole chicken, cleaned it and marinated it over night with olive oil and some great spices, onions and a ton of garlic!!  The next morning I threw it in the crock pot and let it cook on low for 7 hours. It came out perfect. I just cut it all up and we ate it on salads for 2 days!

img_1797

We were on a salad kick and this past week  and each one included chicken! For Wednesday and Thursday I did chicken fajita salads. Again I marinated all the chicken and cooked the chicken and my veggies all together. I love my salads loaded and my hubs likes it more simple. So, I just put everything on the counter and we could make them how we wanted!!

img_1799

Can we now talk about carmelized onions?!!!! Have you ever made them??  I thought I had made them in the past but after looking up the recipe, I guess I had not. So I thought, these sound amazing and really how hard can they be to make?!!! Guys. . . They literally get like caramel. I was shocked. I cooked them and let me sit and cool while I got the rest of the veggies together for the crustless egg quiche. Well when I went to add them to my cooked veggies they were hard as a rock! Like one big piece of candy!! HAHAH!! I turned the stove back on to heat them up and all of a sudden they de-crystallized on me!! I was so happy when that happened! A cooking lesson learned. I made a quiche to have for a quick breakfast each morning!!

Fueled up with this delicious shake!! We found the best grass-fed whey protein at Costco!! I add one scoop, ice, almond milk, strawberries, half of a banana and a tablespoon of almond butter! After 5 miles, this hit the spot!

img_1807                                                                                                              img_1805

That was the amazing portable AC that got us through the nights!!! Love my patients!

And we completely got spoiled with home made lattes. . .

img_1815

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipes:

This is the marinade I used for the chicken fajita salads

The BEST Steak Fajitas

Ahhhh now I can go and snuggle the rest of the night away with the hubby!!  AC is all fixed!! See you all next week! Have a great week:-) XOXO

 

 

One thought on “. . . And we have air again!!!

Leave a Reply

