13.1. . . Cuz I’m only HALF crazy!!

IMG_2215.JPG

 

First, I want to thank you all who have been following me since the summer! You have cheered me on, supported me and encouraged me along the way. If you follow me, you know my blog is mainly about running. This past weekend I ran the Novant Health Charlotte Half Marathon. That is 13.1 miles. My goal was to finish it around 2 hours. When I hit mile 10 and knew I was a little behind schedule on my time,  I listened to what my body was telling me and took my pace down a little. From mile 10-12 I stopped at every drink station and grabbed water and gatorade. I knew my body was a little dehydrated at this point. I took a honey packet around mile 9 and should have probably taken it around mile 6 but I was feeling really good and my pace was right around a 9 minute mile. The crowds along the streets were so encouraging and kept me going! Also, knowing my hubby was waiting for me at the finish line, with his cow bell, cheering me on, kept me going strong!

Saturday morning I woke up at 5 am and started eating breakfast and had a cup of coffee. I had an almond butter and jelly wrap and a Noosa yogurt. I knew the more protein the better because it would stay with me longer. We got to the race around 645 and it was COLD. It was 45 degrees and I was going to run in running capris and a tank top. I always get hot by mile 1 but I was debating if I should wear my running jacket, so glad I decided not to because by mile 1 I was hot!! The gun went off at 730 and off i went. Miles 1-5 were great.  We ran through the City and then by mile 5 we were out of the city and in the neighborhoods. It was gorgeous to run with all the leaves around and the colors of the trees shining so vibrantly. Mile 6 was a HILL. I do not do well with these but I was determined to run this hill. I got up and over it and it was down hill for a mile or so after that. Once that big hill was done the rest were short inclines. Mile 10 I really hit a wall. I started thinking what if I just stop, what if I can’t keep going?? But I had to get that negative thinking out of my head real quick. I was tired, hungry and thirsty. I just wanted to sit. My legs were achy and sore. But I continued on with each foot in front of me. As soon as I saw mile 13 I could see the finish line. That put a huge smile on my face and I booked it. I ran as fast as I could and right before I hit the finish line I looked to my right and caught my hubby’s eye! He was smiling so big and ringing that cow bell for me!!!! And my sweet friend was there with her little peanut with a sign cheering me on!!!!! I also knew all my family and friends were cheering me on from wherever they were!!!!

I finished. . . I crossed the finish line at 2 hours and 13 minutes!!! And now it was pumpkin pancake time!!!!!

Can we talk about one more thing. I love to run with music but I hate the velcro armbands. They never stay on my arm and the velcro always wears off. Not to mention, they are not washable so become VERY stinky. When I was at the expo picking up my race packet I found the best arm band. EVERY runner needs one!!!! They are so comfortable and I never have to worry if its going to fall off my arm.

img_2231

Get yours here: https://bondiband.com

 

Thank you again for all your love!!!! XOXO Now its on to Thanksgiving!!! Watch where I will be blogging from!!!!

4 thoughts on “13.1. . . Cuz I’m only HALF crazy!!

  1. shanna mallon says:

    So amazing, Jarrelle. I’m just sitting here thinking that I can’t imagine standing for two hours straight, let alone running, let alone running fast… ha!!! You inspire me! I think my next goal is to just walk for two hours without stopping. : )

    Like

  2. lydiastlouis says:

    I LOVE pumpkin pancakes! What a sweet reward for all your hard work. I need to start running too…but I might just start with our treadmill. Good for you for staying in shape and making time for things you love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

