Conventional vs. Non-conventional

Before I talk about medicine let talk about a few fun things. . .so I took some time off from running and mixed it up with spinnning classes. I took some classes at Cycle bar. The cool thing about this place is that they incorporate weights in with cycling. I did a full week of intense classes. I definitely saw a difference in my body by the end of the week. I think that just means that I need to focus more on incorporating different exercises and classes in with my running. So that is my plan starting Monday! A few other things about cycle bar: the music is amazing, it really keeps you going, the instructors are motivating, they give you water bottles, a towel and even spinning shoes. They clean them after each person, don’t worry!!! Just some of my water bottles from my week!!!

IMG_2992

Since moving to Charlotte we have not ventured too much into SC but we decided to take a drive to the Zentrum (BMW factory) and then drove into Greenville. Downtown Greenville is gorgeous.  We found a beautiful park to hang out at and ate at the Lazy Goat, phenomenal!!

And I think we started a new tradition. . . Vin and his sister have the same birthday and 6 years apart, funny, right?!!! I thought it would be nice to do something different. We all ventured out to Lake Norman State Park and grilled out for the day. It was perfect! We were right by the lake, had our own private grill and just enjoyed the day! And you can’t go to a picnic and not bring deviled eggs!

Now fast forward to this past week and today. .  . I have been in bed sick since I walked in the door on Thursday night. On Thursday my throat was killing me, like to the point where I could not swallow. I got adjusted and acupuncture before I left the office and I felt immediate relief. But I knew I needed to get some “medicine” in me for some relief. I immediately climbed into bed, got the diffuser going with on guard and lathered my feet with pure frankincense. I was miserable all night long. All I truly wanted was something to take away the pain. See in our house we have chosen to do all non-conventional/integrative medicine. So what does that really mean??  Dr. Andrew Weil says it best “Integrative medicine is healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind, and spirit), including all aspects of lifestyle. It emphasizes the therapeutic relationship and makes use of all appropriate therapies, both conventional and alternative.” There are not many people I would like to meet in life but Dr. Andrew Weil is one of them! I know weird. So many people want to meet celebrities and I am over here wanting to meet a doctor!! Check out his website when you have some time. So these have been my “drugs” over the last few days!! I constantly gargled with pink Himalayan salt and warm water to ease my throat pain, ran the diffuser non stop, made a hot concocscion with apple cider vinegar and warm water, this has been my drink of choice morning, noon and night, lathered my feet and wrists in pure frankincense and made a steam room in our bathroom and sprinkled peppermint to help clear my sinuses.

And for food, well not much sounded good to me besides popsicles and pho, extra spices to help clear the sinuses! So that is what I have been living on, for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!

I think I can finally say I am on the mend. Good thing because I am not sure how much longer I can be confined to the house! I am ready to be outside, exercising and back to life. I miss doing the laundry, dishes and grocery shopping, yes my hubby has been doing it all!! He is a KEEPER!!

Hope you have a great rest of your weekend! Let me know what you are doing while I continue to heal!! Hopefully my next blog will be about yummy recipes and some exercise! XO

References:

https://www.drweil.com

 

Leave a Reply

