19 and counting. . .

Sounds like a TV show, right?!?! That is the weight my hubs and I have lost so far together on WHOLE 30! When we started Whole 30 2 weeks ago, we are going on week 3 tomorrow, we had much more in mind then just some extra weight we have been lugging around. We wanted to cleanse our bodies. Yes, we eat clean most of the time but we knew we could get better. It was time to cut out excess sugar, carbs, grains and dairy. So I opened up the Whole 30 book and started the list. What could we eat. I did not focus on what we could not eat, that is just down right depressing! I knew I was going to have to meal plan and prep to make this successful. I even bought items I never had before, like ghee! So in the past couple weeks we have already seen changes: sleep is better, we never wake up bloated, more energy, my miles are better, I crave my exercise because I am really starting to shed fat, our clothes are looser, we are more confident in our skin, our skin is glowing and we have lost some pounds!! Our cravings have disappeared. We have eaten out once and we grabbed whole 30 approved salads. This is the new way of living! Does it make you want to jump on board?!? Maybe it will after you see the recipes I have made. This is a true lifestyle change. Its not a quick fix, its hard but its worth it! And the best thing about it, we are not starving ourselves! We eat REAL food.

Egg roll in a bowl, crock pot chicken served over cabbage mix,  pesto shrimp with spaghetti squash & veggie fajitas served over cauliflower rice

 

Lunches have been salads. At the beginning of the week I cut up all our arugula and kale and put it in a big bowl for the week. Then I just have to throw some in a container and add all our additional items to it! I also cook up a bunch of chicken and have veggies all cut up to quickly throw the salad together. Another thing that I have changed is using bottled dressings and condiments. Home made mayo:

IMG_3104

If you have read any of my blogs you know I have an obsession, a healthy one, with essential oils. Last weekend I got a little too much Vitamin D. I found an after sun spray that I wanted from Nordstrom that was $20. I checked the ingredients and duplicated for less than half!!! I filled the glass spritzer bottle with the witch hazel and added 10 drops of each EO. Not even aloe gave me this much relief! I carried it with me all week and spritzed it on as I needed it!

IMG_3132

I would say 99% of my running is done on the treadmill but on Friday I decided to take it to the track! I packed on the sunscreen, I use blue lizard, and hit the track for 4 miles. If you really want to sweat, run when its 94 degrees out and over 60% humidity!!! Two of my miles were done in these!!! I showed up not prepared!

IMG_3136

Hope you had a great weekend! Please share with me what you did! Have you ever done Whole 30?! If so, I would love to hear your experiences! Hope you have a great week and I will see you back here in about 2 weeks!

Recipes (some I have adapted as needed to be Whole 30 compliant):

http://www.mostlyhomemademom.com/2014/07/eggroll-in-bowl.html

http://peasandcrayons.com/2017/02/pesto-parmesan-spaghetti-squash-with-shrimp.html

http://www.healthy-liv.com/sweet-potato-breakfast-bowl/

https://inquiringchef.com/light-fluffy-cauliflower-rice/amp/

 

Leave a Reply

