Think before you Buy!!

Happy Monday!! Hope you had a great weekend and your Monday is off to a great start! Many of you know, my weekends consist of grocery shopping and meal planning. But before I even make my list, I go through the fridge and freezer and see what I have. I start in the fridge. I HATE throwing food away. So I look to see what I have and I take it all out and plan meals with what I have to use up 1st. Guys, I did that and my grocery bill for this week was ONLY $29!!!! That is for a weeks worth of groceries.

I went through all this stuff and cleaned and chopped everything up. Nothing went to waste and I did not end up re-buying the same veggies and fruit that I already had. So before you shop go through your fridge! You will be surprised what you bought and did not use!

IMG_4408

With some of those leftover, I was able to throw a salad together for the week. I had a broccoli slaw I needed to use up, added purple onion, apples and tri-color peppers and I made a vinaigrette dressing. Threw it all in a big bowl and its all ready for the week! I had a few pieces of chicken I had left in the freezer so I cooked those up and added them to the salad for extra protein!

Also, I love quick items for breakfast. I love being able to make food ahead of time and just grab them each day. I love following Whole 30 recipes on Instagram for new ideas. I made the blackberry sage breakfast sausage. 1st off, I saved money because I made patties from scratch and I knew the exact ingredients that were in my sausage patties. No added ingredients!! Now you know me. . . I did not follow the recipe exactly because I did not want to buy sage and blackberries when I had rosemary and apples I needed to use up. So I took 1 lb of grass-fed pork and added spices, apples and rosemary! We have breakfast for the week. And I can add an egg if we need it!

If you do not follow #whole30recipes on IG, GO NOW!!!!

I love to shop local. Yes, it can be a little more expensive but you never know the people you get to meet and the inspiration behind their products. I love buying all kinds of things local but one of my favorite shops is jewelry from Erin

She can do everything from custom to something basic! I have gotten the privilege to meet her in person and visit her studio! Thank you Miquel for spoiling me and introducing me to a beautiful lady but also to some amazing jewelry. Not local? No problem, she can ship! These are just 2 of my pieces from her! Love the custom bar necklace and I layered it! I just love the thought and time that goes behind each piece.

IMG_4803

And we have been spoiled with some GOOOOOD coffee! We drank lots of coffee when my parents were in town and they brought us a pound of Bacio flavored coffee from this gem of a coffee shop! I grew up going here! When you walk in the door you will greeted with the most delicious smells. Might not be able to drink anything after this coffee is done!! Might need monthly orders. . .HINT HINT Mom and Dad!! If you are in CT, stop in for a delicious cup Coffee

IMG_4964

I know how important it is as a runner to add other things in to my routine then just miles! But sometimes I am so focused that all I want to do is run and be done. So I have slowed my time back a bit and started adding in upper body strength conditioning. I split my miles up and after each mile I did 3 sets of 25 of upper body. And I finally got in 4 miles this past Saturday. I have been keeping it to 3 since I am not really training for anything. But once I hit that 4 mile marker I felt like I could keep going so we will see what this week brings for miles!!

Love that I can jump on and off the treadmill. Everything I need is right here!

IMG_4948

And for date night this weekend, we invited my in-laws to join us for some Maine Lobstah hosted at this little gem Hunter Home & Gardens. If you are around here, follow them on FB and IG and see the events they have. Its such a cute place! Go check them out!

Hope you all have a beautiful week!!! And let me know if you try anything that I posted on my blog today!!!! ~Always Stay Humbled & Kind~

Ciao!!

Leave a comment